Fruit-Gathering

I feel that all the stars shine in me. The world breaks into my life like a flood.

The flowers blossom in my body. All the youthfulness of land and water smokes like an incense in my heart; and the breath of all things plays on my thoughts as on a flute.

Fruit-Gathering LXXXIII:I
– Rabindranath Tagore

The vision of blossoming flowers is a theme in Eastern alchemy. In China, advanced practitioners are said to see visions of falling snow or flowers. I think Hildegard of Bingen may have described a vision of falling lights in one of her visions, but I can’t find the reference. This line of Tagore is more likely to refer to the opening of the chakras, symbolised as lotus flowers, but it enchanted me because it gave me the idea of flowers floating around inside my body.

You can read the full text of Fruit-Gathering here.

~ by scalambra on January 19, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
