Psalm 32

Blessed are you whose wrongdoings
have been forgiven,
whose shame has been forgotten.
Blessed are you in whom Love Divine
finds a home
and whose spirit radiates truth

When I acknowledged not my shortcomings
I became ill through all my defenses
And day and night, guilt weighed heavy
constricting my heart;
My spirit became dry as desert bones.

I admitted my faults to the Most High,
and I made known my regret;
I cried out, “Forgive me, O Comforter,
for those times I have sinned in
my thoughts, my words,
and my deeds;”
And the Beloved created within me
a clean and open heart

Therefore, let everyone who is sincere
give thanks to the Beloved;
For whenever we feel paralyzed by fear
we shall be embraced by Love
Dwelling in the Hear of the Beloved
we are free from distress,
free to live more creatively.

O my Beloved, You are my guide,
You teach me to walk in the Light.
Be watchful of me, counsel me as
I listen to you in the Silence
I pray for the gifts of inner peace
and wisdom,
For the grace to reverence all of Creation.

Many are the heartaches of those
separated from Love;
Steadfast love abides with those
who surrender their lives into
the hands of the Beloved.
Be glad and rejoice! Let your life
give witness to Love’s Way;
And shout for joy, all of you upright
of heart!

Psalm 32, translated by Nan Merrill in Psalms for Praying

~ by scalambra on September 9, 2011.

One Response to “Psalm 32”

  1. I must confess that the Book of Psalms is the one and only Old Testament book I value for spiritual guidance and constant consultation.

Leave a Reply

 
